North Babylon recognizes staff at June board of education meeting

It was a night full of celebrations in the newly renovated auditorium at North
Babylon High School, as the Superintendent of Schools Glen Eschbach and the board of
education honored staff for their achievements and retirements on June 16.
The evening began with 2022 Coca-Cola Scholar Michael Fuentes honoring Director
of Guidance Leah Lugoviña with the Educator of Distinction Award from the Coca-Cola
Scholars Foundation. Each of the 2022 Coca-Cola Scholars nominated the educator that
inspired and encouraged them the most.
Then, Suffolk County Police Department Officer Jeanne Osias was recognized for her
retirement. Osias has served Town of Babylon school districts as a school resource officer.
Councilman Terence McSweeney presented Osias with a Proclamation on behalf of Town of
Babylon Supervisor Richard Schaffer.
Superintendent Eschbach then highlighted staff for achieving longevity and tenure
milestones, as well as those celebrating their retirement. The recognitions began with
North Babylon High School paraprofessional Lisa Harsch, who was honored for serving the
district for 25 years. Those retiring were then recognized and thanked for their time with
the district. They are Patricia D’Aries, a part-time school bus driver; Robert Hand, a
custodial worker at Belmont Elementary School; Karen Manzione, a senior office assistant
at North Babylon High School and Debbie Simmons, a paraprofessional at Belmont
Elementary School.
Those who received tenure are Colleen Cafiso, LOTE teacher at North Babylon High
School; Ronald Foster, technology teacher at Robert Moses Middle School; Jason Friesen,
director of physical education, health education, recreation and athletics at North Babylon
High School; Sarah Lambert-Townsend, art teacher at North Babylon High School; Lina
Lenis, dual-language teacher at Parliament Place Elementary School; Eileen Machtay, LOTE
teacher at Robert Moses Middle School; Chandler Manning, physical education teacher at
Robert Moses Middle School; Fallon Priore, LOTE teacher at Robert Moses Middle School;
John Ruggero, principal of Robert Moses Middle School, and Carolyn Rzewinski, music
teacher at Robert Moses Middle School.