skip to main content

SCOPE Honors District Members

SCOPE Honors District Members thumbnail118848

Three members of the district were honored at the annual SCOPE Award Dinner in March. Joyce Bolton, Joan Carlino and Rita Savastano were nominated by the district and received awards for their outstanding service, dedication and commitment to the community.

Mrs. Bolton, recipient of the Support Staff Service Award, began her career with the district in 2005. She was a food service worker, assistant cook and is now head cook at Robert Moses Middle School. She cheerfully greets students and staff each day, providing 200 breakfasts and 1,100 student lunches. In addition, she regularly caters meetings, celebrations and special events. Mrs. Bolton is an active CSEA member and secretary of her unit. 

Mrs. Savastano received the Community Service Award for her outstanding efforts within the district, which has spanned 40 years. She serves on the PTA and has been the recipient of the Honorary Life, Distinguished Service and Lee Tatti Community Service awards, as well as the North Babylon Teachers’ Organization’s Distinguished Service Award. Mrs. Savastano contributes to many district committees and community organizations such as PASA, PEP, PYAC, Site Base Management Teams, Human Relations, Scholarship Committee, Health & Safety Committee, NBCYS and Lions Club. She continues to show an impressive level of dedication to community service. 

Ms. Carlino, recipient of the Teacher Service Award, is a valued member of the Belmont Elementary School staff, teaching at the elementary level for 23 years. She is a mentor to untenured teachers, participates in curriculum writing and is a member of the Superintendent Teacher Advisory Council. She’s also a teacher representative for the PTA and a site-based committee member. In addition, Ms. Carlino works endlessly with student teacher candidates to discuss ideas, approaches and advances to create effective classrooms for active learning. 

The district congratulates all three recipients and are thankful for their continued service within the community. 

Thursday, Jun 04, 2020 Facebook